SUBMISSIONS NOW OPEN FOR SXSW SYDNEY 2024
November 24, 2023

Touchdown Under: Highlights From The Asian Music Takeover At SXSW Sydney 2023

Share this Article

image

Image: Isyana Sarasvati and band on stage at SXSW Sydney 2023 – photographed by Jack Bennett

 

Crowds at the inaugural SXSW Sydney were treated to performances from the likes of Isyana Sarasvati, Yuji, Nadin Amizah and Feby Putri, as part of the Touchdown global music initiative.


The line-up, featuring 13 incredible artists from Indonesia, Malaysia, and South Korea, was curated by China’s most loved festival Concrete & Grass, along with Asia’s biggest label group YEG Music.


Over the course of two days, music fans gathered at the Tumbalong Park stage to hear the distinctive, traditional Indonesian sounds of Soegi Bornean, Adhitia Sofyan’s soulful melodies, contemporary jazz from Ardhito Pramono and a rock & operatic symphony from the iconic multi-instrumentalist, Isyana Sarasvati.


GAC electrified the crowd with their particular brand of R&B, followed by the always enchanting Nadin Amizah, Malaysian R&B sensation, Yuji, who was joined on-stage by fellow Malaysian artist Lunadira. The party continued with Korean R&B and Hip Hop artists, Marv and Owen, and the legendary Malaysian rock bands, Pop Shuvit and Hujan. Day two ended with a headline performance by Indonesian indie star, Hindia, who brought the TouchDown Under home.

image

Image: Feby Putri NC on stage at SXSW Sydney 2023 – photographed by Jack Bennett

 

Congratulations to all of the artists for an unforgettable show. We know this is just the beginning of their journey into the hearts and playlists of fans all over the world.

Check out the TouchDown Under highlights video here.

 

Credits:

Production Company – PUSH (@push.xyz)
Director – Angus McGuigan (@angusbeefmedia)
Executive Producer – Jonathan Lim (@jonathonlim)
Producer – Cameron Davis (@cameron.cine)
B – Cam – Ben Norris (@benorriss)
Still Photography – Jack Bennett (@jackowenbennett), Wade Whitington (@wadewhitington), Olivia Hosking (@oliviahosking), Sophie Mcevoy (@sophie_mcevoy)
Editor – Bernice Jiang (@berni.jiang)
Colourist – Drew Kendell (@dk_filmmaker)

 

Artists:

Soegi Bornean (YT: @SoegiBornean | IG: @soegiborneanmusik)
Yuji (YT: @yujikyunn | IG: @yujikyunn)
Nadin Amizah (YT: @nadin.amizah | IG: @cakeceine)
Adhitia Sofyan (YT: @AdhitiaSofyan | IG: @adhitiasofyan)
Feby Putri  (YT: @febyputrinc | IG: @fbyputrinc)
GAC  (YT: @GAC_music | IG: @gac_music)
Hindia (YT: @Hindia | IG: @wordfangs)
Isyana Sarasvati (YT: @IsyanaSarasvatiOfficial | IG: @isyanasarasvati)
Ardhito Pramono (YT: @ardhitopramonoofficial7065 | IG: @ardhitopramono)
Marv (YT: @marvvvvv | IG: @marvsouly)
Owen (YT: @owenmyown | IG: @owenmyown)
Pop Shuvit (YT: @popshuvit2u | IG: @popshuvitmusic)
Hujan  (YT: @OFFICIALHUJANBAND | IG: @hujanband)

latest news

read all news

WE CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOU IN 2024

Sign up to receive the latest announcements for SXSW SYDNEY 2024.

By subscribing, you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and that you have read our Privacy Policy.